top of page
  • rabrams0

The Really Real Researcher Podcast- launching in 2024…


Throughout 2023 I’ve engaged in a number of different courses to professionally self-develop. Self-development is something I value immensely, and this year I have focused on how I both write, and convey my work. The courses of note that I’ve done include the Writer’s Academy, led by Anna Clements, and the DIY Data Academy run by Chris Lysy.


Alongside this learning, or possibly even as a result, I have felt an increasing need for my own creative outlet. I’ve been hugely inspired by several books I’ve read including: The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron; Show don’t tell by Dan Roam, Making Comics by Linda Barry, The Medium is the Massage by Marshall McLuhan, as well as the work of Laura Evans-Hill at Nifty Fox. I’d like 2024 to have a space where I can produce a piece of work that is an unvetted creative endeavour. Therefore, I’ve decided to set myself the creative goal of launching a podcast.


This idea is borne from a number of different things including: (1) still feeling partially like I am in lockdown and wanting to change this by intentionally interacting with more people; (2) wanting to be both invisible and visible- a podcast feels like the perfect way to manage this contradiction by shining the light on others whilst hosting and holding space; and (3) wanting to practice asking questions. This final point might sound odd but I really believe asking questions can have a profound impact on how we form connections. It is not something that comes that naturally to me for fear of appearing rude, impolite or ignorant (thank you, social conditioning) and so, as part of being a ‘really real researcher’, I’d like to figure that process out.  


The podcast will be unedited, organic and authentic. Its underlying principle or intent is one of curiosity. Whilst relying on interaction with others, this is a solo adventure which also feels significant, meaning I will be the sole host. This feels both uncomfortable and exciting. The podcast will focus on process; inspiration; struggles and proud moments all related to research. I have gone back and forth about whether this will be exclusively about realist research. This will be my starting point because it is what I currently know best. Ultimately though I am interested in how all researchers go about their creative process of finding things out, untangling the mess, forming conclusions and conveying their meaning. At the end of every episode guests will also be invited to share something unrelated to academia including what they are currently reading, watching and/or listening to for enjoyment. Come prepared!


If you would like to feature as a guest on the Really Real Researcher podcast, please get in touch at r.abrams@surrey.ac.uk . All voices welcome.


So, to end:


I am currently reading: Chronicles of a Cairo Bookseller by Nadia Wassef, which will then be followed by Still Born by Guadalupe Nettlel (you can see more on my reading habits on Instagram: @ruth_abrams_).


I have recently watched Leave the World Behind on Netflix which was both thought provoking and terrifying.


I am (and regularly do) listen to lofi beats on Spotify for background noise when I’m working from home.


Have a lovely Christmas and happy new year. Here’s to creative endeavours in 2024!

 

108 views1 comment
bottom of page